Paris: Day 5- The Eiffel Tower

Day five we arrived at The Eiffel Tower early [ish] in the morning to find it bathed in sunlight. After some debate about which corner of the tower to queue up at, we managed to get into a very orderly line, just in front of a group of about thirty students from Argentina. I’m not sure how many of their pictures I was lurking in the background of, but sorry, I guess.

The first of many pictures of the Eiffel Tower that you're going to see here.

The first of many pictures of the Eiffel Tower that you’re going to see here.

Oh look, hey, here's another one.

Oh look, hey, here’s another one.

and another...

and another…

We queued for about an hour, an hour and a half, taking turns to go off and wander around. Once we had out tickets, it wasn’t long until we got into the first lift, to take us up to the second level. When we stepped out, a cold wind hit me in the face like a slap, and although we walked around and took lots of lovely pictures and admired the view, I think the thing that I’ll remember the most of is shivering and cursing my astounding ability of not being able to pack a scarf.

Views la la la

Views la la la

A cold selfie.

A cold selfie.

Viewsssss

Viewsssss

Looking up...gulp!

Looking up…gulp!

And then we queued for another hour and half to get the life up to the third floor. I have and always will be a shameless people watcher- in my defense, it’s fascinating, and a good way to pass the time. When we finally got into the lift, and it started to go, we realized that it was more than a little nerve wracking. Being right by the window didn’t help, as we rose up, seemingly directly into mid air, to the slimmest reachable point of the Tower. There was a bit of nervous mumbling at how fast we were going, and I was relieved to finally reach the top.

The view really was amazing, and it was a lot of fun to get a really good viewpoint of the lay of Paris. I was disappointed at the lack of opportunities to encourage consumerism from tourists- only one little bar selling champagne! Tsk tsk. [We didn’t buy any.] There were also a few padlocks with names written on them attached to the railings. I wonder how often these are taken off?

I think this large scale graffiti was anti-Nazi? Either way, the authorities weren't happy about it.

I think this large scale graffiti was anti-Nazi? Either way, the authorities weren’t happy about it.

Romantic

Romantic

...etc etc etc

…etc etc etc

VIEWS

VIEWS

High up!

High up!

Aaaaaaand that's it. For now.

Aaaaaaand that’s it. For now.

If you can see, there's a [fake] person sitting on the back of that little cart- in the olden days there used to be an actual one!

Looking back from the lift.

Views...there are a lot of these.

Views…there are a lot of these.

Views from the street.

Views from the street.

We didn’t have to queue very long to get down, and then we decided to buy a picnic lunch and go to the gardens of the Louvre. I actually fell asleep in the sun, but Ruth, eager to go and see a bit more art, soon suggested that we go inside.

The Lion Gate- best little known entrance to the Louvre!

The Lion Gate- best little known entrance to the Louvre!

The courtyard of the Louvre.

The courtyard of the Louvre.

It was such a lovely day!

It was such a lovely day!

The most efficient course of action seemed to be to split up, and so Ruth looked around a collection of art from Holland, while I went to look at the Ancient Middle Eastern area. It was really incredible to just have this little window into a time so long ago, and even on my way out, past the Egyptian area and scurrying a bit to make our rendezvous point in time,  I was still in awe. I definitely want to go back one day with a bit more knowledge of the history and culture from then.

IMG_5021 IMG_5022

This painted apparently loved florals as much as I do...just kidding, NOBODY loves florals as much as I do.

This painted apparently loved florals as much as I do… [not from Ancient Egypt].

I also managed to walk around the old moat of the Louvre- dating from medieval times. Pretty impressive- rather blank and imposing. I didn’t stop to take pictures, but it’s worth a visit!

And that was Day 5! A very lovely sunny [but not warm in some of the higher parts!] day.

Leave a Reply

